Local Heritage Tourism

  • Dutch Houses of Passaic County

    Dutch Houses of Passaic County

    This tour of “Dutch Colonial” houses will give participants an opportunity to see four of the stone walled, gambrel-roofed houses that are typical of a distinctive historic architectural type found in Passaic and Bergen Counties. Properties newly restored and others still in the process of restoration will offer a look at the steps and stages of well-planned projects, including the role of archaeology, in developing interpretation of the sites. Three of the houses have not typically been open to the public in recent years, and this is a rare opportunity to tour all of them with knowledgeable guides. Planned visits include The Van Houten House (1741, c. 1830) in Paterson; the Vanderhoef House (c. 1690, ca. 1830) in Clifton; and the Dey Mansion (1772) in Wayne ; and Hester-Schuyler-Colfax House (c. 1694, c. 1783) in Wayne.